Search

How to identify unfamiliar names for food allergens

Wheat

Wheat can be found everywhere, including cereal, crackers, bread, and even ketchup!

Ingredients that indicate the presence of wheat include gluten, flour, wheat germ, bran, graham, and more. This is not to be confused with celiac disease.

Reviewed by Dr. Sara Connolly, April 2019

References

  1. Food Allergies.
  2. The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network.
  3. Sicherer S. Food Allergies: A Complete Guide to Eating When Your Life Depends on It.
  4. Joneja JV. The Health Professional’s Guide to Food Allergies and Intolerances.

Comments

Tell us who you are! We use your name to make your comments, emails, and notifications more personal.

Tell us who you are! We use your name to make your comments, emails, and notifications more personal.